Monday, December 23, 2013

"Temper Temper" by Bullet For My Valentine

These days the most music that is coming into my life is of the extreme metal variety. Reading Louder Than Hell will certainly do that though.

It's still absolutely ridiculous to separate all of the subgenres of metal though, but who are these guys? Everybody has at least heard their name.

This band is from Wales. Really? Who knew any metal came out of Wales? Though Wales's Henry's Funeral Shoe are also quite good, but not remotely metal. I suppose Wales is pretty brutal? Though Cardiff City FC can suck it.

"Temper Temper" is the fourth album released by these very angry Welshmen, but the name is still confusing. In this day and age, the metal fan has to accept that the vast majority of metal names have been taken and now the names are either not metal, or kind of out there and very long..... Well, this is my first go around with this band and let's see what there is to see.

They don't look very metal...
Frankly, this album is neither as brutal nor as angry as expected. This band is somewhere above the Metallica level of heavy, but does not rise to the Black Dahlia Level of heavy either.

The vocals, like the guitars go from mellow to heavy and back again rather frequently. This back and forth makes for a very nuanced listening experienced. Metallica, one of Bullet's major influences, learned very quickly the lessons of dynamics in songs. The heavy sounds heavier when it has mellower parts to compare it to. Matt Tuck is very adept at switching up his vocal delivery to match the timbre of the music.

The guitar work, like the vocals seems to have three settings: ringing, crunchy, and brutal. The biggest complaint here is that there is not enough tonal difference in the guitar work. They have found their sound and they're not changing it up. What is very nice is that this is a dual guitar band and they use guitar sections. It's always very disappointing to hear a dual guitar band where both players are playing the same thing. Make parts! The lead player, Michael Paget, has a very dexterous style of playing. His leads do not overwhelm, but are appropriately fast and metal for the music.

This album has very ambient textures and a goodly deal of arpeggiated chord patterns that are often followed by very crunch power chords. It's easy to fall into the record as it moves up and down like a roller coaster.

What's most disappointing is the drumming. It locks in right with the guitars of course, but it would be nice to hear some drumming on this record. Some blast beats always make this guy happy!

All in all, this album is the offspring of Metallica and Fear Factory. Great dynamic changes with the crunch of Metallica. It's a pretty darned good record.

1) Breaking Point
2) Truth Hurts
3) Temper Temper
4) P.O.W.
5) Dirty Little Secret
6) Leech
7) Dead To The World
8) Riot
9) Saints & Sinners
10) Tears Don't Fall (Part 2)
11) Livin' Life (On the Edge Of A Knife)

No comments:

Post a Comment